top of page
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Herbs


Thyme

For the past 3 years, I have had a herb garden. It hasn't gone incredibly well because I have gone away every summer, but even without a full season, it makes economical sense. The only way to get fresh herbs on the fly around here, is to buy those expensive Organics packets at the Safeway etc. Then you only use a little bit and the rest goes bad. You can buy an herb plant for $2-3, and the plant keeps it fresh for you! You also get way more, and its fun and you can feel fancy. Like a modern housewife.

Pictured are some of the herbs I currently have growing -I also want to get dill, tarragon, chives, and maybe a couple others.

A tip I learned this year -I had previously recycled the same Dollar Store soil for 3 years. This year I used S's money to buy some Miracle Grow soil. I also committed to watering every day. It has made a collossal difference. Hopefully this year I can be committed to my plants all summer and who knows what will happen! But in the meantime, take it from me: use some kind of Miracle Grow if it doesn't offend your morals, and water daily. It really works.

Curled parsley

Sage

Rosemary, you can put fresh into rosemary bread (see post)

I also have 2 mint plants, one from last year, going strong after much abuse, and a new one from this year. Makes a great Senegalese-inspired addition to tea.

bottom of page