top of page
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Rosemary bread


I have been making this recipe for forever (see 20 something post) and everyone who has ever eaten with me has been sure to have it. I found it back in my 20s because I was looking for the simplest way to make bread. It has held strong and true and everyone always loves it so much that I make it a couple of times a month!

Here's the recipe: http://www.food.com/recipe/romanos-macaroni-grill-rosemary-bread-64446

Ingredients:

2 and 1/4 cup flour

salt

2 tbs butter

1 cup warm water

1 tbs regular yeast

1 tbs sugar

Directions:

1) Mix the warm water, yeast, and sugar together in a small bowl and set aside. When its all frothy and bubbly its ready. If it doesn't get frothy, it could be because the water was too hot or too cold, you didn't have the right proportions (I sometimes guess but to be sure follow the ingredients) or maybe the yeast didn't work (got old, was a dud, I don't know). I would still use it, but expect the dough to rise less/be denser and smaller.

2) In the meantime, mix the flour and the salt. Then mix in the butter. Then, when the yeast mixture is ready, mix that in too. Knead the dough until it is evenly mixed. If you need to add a drop or two extra of water to get up all the flour, do so.

3) Break the dough into two and form into two balls. Set on an ungreased baking sheet and allow to rise until its about 1.5 times the size. (*Note -my rising procedure is much different from the one in the recipe. I thought that one was too complicated, and I like the bread denser than that recipe makes it.)

4) Bake at 375 for 15 minutes, or until golden brown.

bottom of page